top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureomotola200210

Starting my gap year...

"Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go"~ Joshua 1:9


This photo was taken the morning of my gap year and I was a huge bag of nerves. No idea who I was going to meet. No idea what I am going to learn from this introduction to my gap year. However, one thing I was assured by was I had God by my side helping me along the way.



I had a jam packed but exhilarating four days with the Youth for Christ team, by meeting other like-minded young Christians, who shared the same passion as me by wanting to know God and help others know Christ.





We looked at a variety of topics to help us develop our relationship with God such as sex and relationships, devoting bible reading habits to help us read the Bible and knowing the Bible more from a theological and personal viewpoint. A couple of things stuck in my mind in these sessions for me to be spiritually motivated and live a godly life as a young Christian living in worldly world.

  • BE SET APART

  • SURRENDER YOURSELF TO GOD

  • CHAMPION YOUR SEASON OF SINGLENESS

  • OUR SURRENDER LEADS TO OTHERS' ENCOUNTER WITH GOD

 
Do not be yoked together with unbelievers" ~ 2 Corinthians 6:14

My biggest highlight of my four days away was meeting the incredible young people on my gap year and spending time with them, like I said earlier it is amazing to be part of an amazing group who love Jesus as much as I do and we've been messaging each other everyday on our WhatsApp group chat. I can't wait to see them again hopefully when the pandemic improves.


 

This past month I have been working with the wonderful Eleanor and the church and I have been loving it so far. We've been planning activity packs for the children at Bulwell URC and helping send resources to staffs at school. Sometimes its been very tiring and I have come back home knackered but it has been really enlightening to see how Bulwell URC works and I am looking forward to the rest of the year now life in church is slowing going back to normal.



I hope everyone who reads this newsletter has a wonderful day and God loves you so much and we are his children and children of the light. God bless.



50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2021

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page